Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

It is true that we do not recycle enough household waste. While I accept that the new law that forces people to recycle can help solve this situation, I disagree that the recycling law is the only measure that governments should take. In my opinion, the new recycling law will only be a viable way to tackle the problem of waste. Governments can impose a legal obligation on homeowners to sort all their waste into different bins. There can be penalties for people who don't comply with the law, from a small fine to community service, or even prison sentences for repeat offenders. These measures will act as a means to prevent and encourage people to comply with recycling laws. As a result, improved homeowners' behavior can lead to a clean, litter-free environment for everyone. On the other hand, many ways can also increase the responsibility for recycling. Law is not the only outcome, there is a way to reward someone. In Beijing, for example, one could exchange plastic bottles for subway tickets. This could be one reason people recycle more and try to be more ecologically aware. Also, in some countries, recycling sensitivity is prevalent in schools. Teachers are teaching children how to recycle waste why and where to put their waste. Early people realize and improve the recycling process better. In short, most people in our country already know the importance of saving the environment and how individual recycling efforts can improve environmental conditions. Since many of them are still not involved in waste recycling, there is no other way than to impose legislation to do this.