One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, traffic congestion has become a major concern in many cities across the globe. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this problem and suggest possible measures that can be implemented to handle the situation. One of the major reasons is that the ownership of vehicles has increased in the past few years which leads to soaring number of automobiles on roads. According to some reports, Hong Kong experienced one of the biggest traffic congestions in 2014 which lasted for more than 24 hours. Secondly, in many cities the infrastructure for public transport is not fully developed and it is not available for the entire day. Due to which people prefer to use private mode of transport over public transport. Thirdly, many cities around the world are not built with proper planning and also there are narrow roads which obstruct people from commuting. Certain measures can be taken to deal with this situation. Firstly, government should increase the quality of public transport by providing frequent services. In addition to this, fares of government transportation should also be reduced in order to promote it. Another measure is to construct wide roads and bridges so that traffic can move smoothly during peak hours. Furthermore, separate cycle lanes should be constructed and people should be encouraged to ride bicycles. Finally, major city centres or crowded places of the city must be declared car free and fine should be imposed on those who do not follow the rules. To sum up, by developing public transport and making rules stringent, the problem of traffic congestion can be reduced to a great extent.