Some people claim that celebrities are role models and thus they should behave well in public, while others disagree.

Nowadays there are a lot of people categorized as successful and so are always under spotlights. While some say that there is no sense in putting much pressure on them to behave well; nevertheless, it is my firm conviction that people in public eye should act adequate. To begin with, every individual living in a democratic society has as many opportunities as others, so some believe that celebrities also can act as they wish. Moreover, people in the public eye may have moral short comings or make the wrong life choices, even though they are always in the spotlight. Also, celebrity’s occupation is considered to entertain people, not to set a moral example. To be more clearly, they do not have a responsibility to have a positive effect on society since the majority of them are only into gaining a lot of publicity and achieve fame whereas on the other hand parents as well as teachers rather than stars should be icons. However, famous people should behave responsibly due to the fact that they exert an enormous influence on teenagers. Furthermore, if stars set a positive role, their fan clubs containing adolescents can see the possibility of being both successful and a kind person at the same time which as a result brings about hope, integrity and compassion. Another viewpoint is that, popular people need compensating for the lack of positive role models among politics, business people to showcase problems related to environment, economy and community. To put it differently, provided that a person with a good reputation informs people about variety of problems, they can become widespread and which as a result can take more attention and be solved. For example, having visited South Africa as UN goodwill ambassador Angeline Jolie attracted people’s attention on how serious global problems are such as poverty, drought and child deaths. To conclude, although acting inadequate or not is everybody’s responsibility, I strongly believe that famous people have to behave well.