Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions.

The common area of debates between social scientists is the aim of the educational system. While some of them claim that education institutes should grow an employee with all necessary knowledge, others believe that education is crucial in moulding the individual’s personality. However, I am prone to support the latter opinion for several reasons. To begin with, requirements to candidates on the labour market have increased dramatically over past decades. New technologies and processes need qualified workers with solid theoretical background. Thus, the curriculum in schools and universities became more elaborated. Consequently, students become overwhelmed and can not concentrate on favorable areas of studying, because they have to comprehend an enormous amount of subjects they were imposed with. In accordance to surveilian of graduates from Michigan Technology University, nearly 50% of respondents referred themselves as unprepared to first work and claimed the necessity of additional training and courses. On the other hand, this redundancy of subjects may have a beneficial effect on personal growth. For example, studying foreign languages allows people to communicate on the international level, math develops the ability of critical thinking, philosophy provides an opportunity for self-perception and teaches values. In addition, not only create those features an independent human being, but also are beneficial for society. For example, if Elon Musk concentrated only on his professional background, he wouldn’t realise his ambition and create NeuroLink, which is revolutionary in neuroscience nowadays. All in all, the importance of education can’t be overestimated. However, it’s impossible to adapt curriculums to modern worlds' demands. Nevertheless, such essentials as self-awareness and critical thinking will help not only obtain a dream job and serve society, but also achieve all ambitions.