Some people believe the prisoners should be given community services instead of being put behind the bars.

The Criminal rate has been increasing worldwide. Some people support the opinion that prisoners should be given an alternative sentence such as community services than behind the bars. I'm in two minds about this matter, because the life sentence generally depends on the crimes that had been committed. In my point of view, the authorities should properly investigate and conclude with the criminal's punishments. Firstly, there are various crimes done by individuals, in that not every violation need to be put behind bars. The juvenile delinquent may have just slipped up and would have been led astray by someone to do crimes. These people would be benefited from community services because if they have been taken into custody, this could become a chance for them to be hardened criminal and as well as they may also become reoffended. So, the community services like helping the orphanages, working in welfare organizations, foster a shelter animal and so on. These could provide them with a great impact on their lives. Secondly, there are violent crimes namely, murders, rapes and genocide, these criminals should be given a prison sentence. This is because of prior planning of these crimes and done with their knowledge and desire, and for them, community services won't be an important tool to get rid of these criminal thoughts. Moreover, these wrongdoers should be given legal charges. For example, the known nirbhaya incident which took place in Delhi shook the entire nation, about 8 people including a minor sexually assaulted and slaughtered her in the moving bus. The outcomes which were given by the Supreme Court was not satisfactory to anyone in our country. Even though the rest of them were given execution, the young offender was given bail with a job in some secured place, but there was no assurance for him not to do the crime like this again. Besides being a minor, he was aware of the humiliation. Finally, the authorities and the government should properly enquire about the crime and propose appropriate files to the high courts. They should appropriately investigate the reason for the crime. If someone is given bail or probation, there should be justice. As a saying, ' good doer should not be given a prison sentence and a lawbreaker should not be left independent'. In conclusion, even though there exist plenty of crimes, it should be reasonable to interrogate and the results have to be produced. Depending upon the criminal act the prison sentence or community services should be decided because not every crime needs community services.