There is evidence that inhaling cigarette smoke causes health problems not only for smokers but for non-smokers who inhale other people’s smoke. In view of this, smoking should be banned in all public places, even though this would restrict some people’s freedom of action. What are your views?

It is widely acknowledged that cigarette smoke leads to certain health issues for both active smokers and passive ones. This essay holds the position of anti-smoking in communal places. Some people may argue that all humans have rights to pursue their desirable lifestyles as well as take responsibilities for any consequences. It means that they are free to lead their lives in a way that positively facilitates their emotion and sensibility. For example, a person might opt for smoking to reduce stress and to seek comfort when he/she encounters obstacles. Rights are always accompanied by obligations for the outcomes generated from the actions of citizens. It is admitted by many that smoking impairs physical health of both smokers and non-smokers. Regardless of health issues related to smoking habits, smokers are probably not resisting the temptation of cigarettes and continue living with it later. On the other hand, despite people’s freedom, many advocates support the idea of restricting smoking in public sites for the sake of society. Smoking also, leads to lung cancer for active smokers and for non-smokers it leads to respiratory problems due to the inhalation of smoke fumes. Therefore, patients must bear the medical expenses and long-term treatment for the cases, which could either be cured with considerable effort and money or cause fatal disease for the bearers. Furthermore, if people smoke in public spots, the youngsters are likely to imitate adults’ as it can be regarded as a stylish manner among their peers. It is thus vital to restrict smoking in any collective spaces to prevent harmful effects on humans. To conclude, although it cannot deny the importance of citizens’ freedom, we should put the whole society’s health in the first place by restricting public smoking as it would cause negative issues to humans.