Discuss pros and cons of using public transport.

In recent days, commuting by metro or buses is increasingly popular. In many countries, governments are more generous to provide funding for developing their public transport system to meet people's demand. However, like two sides of a coin, there are both pros and cons when deciding to use it. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons that motivate people to use public transport and some of the downsides of this trend. Let's start by looking at the positives of traveling by public vehicles. One remarkable advantage is that public transport is proved to be the most eco-friendly way of traveling. A great deal of legitimate research shows that taking buses or subways instead of driving cars can cut down a significant amount of an individual's carbon footprint, thus contributing to alleviating global climate change. Furthermore, the cost of using public transport is relatively low in comparison with other vehicles such as cars, motorbikes or vans. On top of that, many public transport firms often provide monthly or quarterly ticket for the elderly and students, which reduce the price even further. Turning to the other side of the argument, the inflexibility of time can be a major problem. Some people who used to take buses to work but end up using other means stated that the fixed schedule of public transport is no longer compatible with this ever-changing world full of unexpected events. Another issue that needs to consider is that public transport is often crowded and noisy. Imagine that after a long, exhausting working day, you have to get on a packed metro and stand for two hours to reach home. That scene seems far from comfortable. All things considered, public transport is preferred broadly due to its positive effect on the environment as well as people's budget. Nevertheless, it can be troublesome for passengers in terms of time sensitivity and noise. In my point of view, I believe the benefits brought up by public transport eventually outweigh any drawbacks.