Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There is an opinion that the education from university only helps people to find a good job. From my point of view, however, I agree with the opposite statement that colleges will bring much more benefits to us and the community. On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why people believe that the goal of educational institutions is to bring better work. The first reason is these days, recruiters favour interviewees who have formal academic certificates over people that only have experience. For example, In Vietnam, the higher your education background - such as graduated from top universities - the higher opportunity for you to get a job. Another reason is that some jobs require expert knowledge which is only provided in formal schooling, such as medicine, law, teaching, information technology, … On the other hand, I would argue that university education may give both individuals and society wider benefits. Firstly, there are lots of volunteer programmes or even subjects which require students to spend a number of hours per week to serve the community. Service learning, for instance, is a subject from school that involves undergraduates applying their knowledge and experience from school to develop community. Secondly, student organizations from college will impact students’ career and their experience such as developing soft skills, how to work as a team, networking opportunities, … In Conclusion, although some people think that the main point of attending university is to have more chances at work, I personally believe that an academic environment can bring more benefit for students and humanity.