Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It cannot be denied that university education helps graduates get better jobs. I am convinced that it has way more benefits than just job opportunities. In this essay I will justify my opinion using relevant supporting evidence. Higher education plays a key role in an individual’s professional life. It is a well-known fact that one of the university study aims is to assist graduates in obtaining good jobs. Higher education institutions are hoping that the program, curriculum set by them would be useful for their graduated students in real workplaces. What is more, certain kinds of high paying jobs require the applicant to be highly educated or have a university certificate. For example, you cannot work in pharmacy if you are not a certified pharmacist. Since it is a mandatory requirement to get elite and prestigious jobs, many young people enrolled in universities. Therefore a lot of people started believing that the main purpose of university studying is to get better jobs. From the other viewpoint, it is believed that university offer several positive experiences for students themselves and the community. Firstly, by studying in the university, students will have more friends and more connections and that leads to expanding your circle and learning new languages and knowing more about other cultures, since universities nowadays are accepting students from overseas. Secondly, some universities offer various kinds of activities for their student which are beneficial for the community. For example, some medicine schools offer free medical consultation conducted by their students for poor people living in the area. Furthermore, university study increases the person’s understanding and knowledge making him/her more efficient in work and life. To conclude, my opinion is university education raises the chances of having a better job as well as shaping the individual’s personality and way of thinking which is beneficial for the betterment of the society.