some people believe that zoos are cruel while others have a contrary view. discuss both and give your opinin

While some people believe keeping animals in zoos is against animal rights and zoos should be closed, others take the view that they play an important role in protecting some species. This essay will discuss both these views and also why I believe think animals should not be kept in zoos. On one hand, some people consider zoos as places that can protect endangered animals. By providing food and protecting these animals from their natural predators, the vestiges of some species continue living. Take Tehran’s zoo, as an example; there, live tigers that are the last of their species, and there is hope that they can breed and increase in numbers. On the other hand, the advocates of closing zoos, consider zoos against animal rights and money consuming. They claim, keeping animals in captivity is cruel and these animals should be free in their habitat. Moreover, providing food and clean environment for animals in the zoo needs a substantial amount of money and workforce. This money can easily be spent to protect the specific species that are at the risk of extinction. From my perspective, the majority of animals in zoos all over the world are just common species and the main goal is just exhibition of animals. If the goal is protecting animals, there are many better options, and keeping animals in the zoo is not the case. In conclusion, while advocates of zoos consider it beneficial to protecting at-risk animals, others including myself take the idea that all zoos are against the welfare of animals and should be closed. No animal should be kept in captivity for the enjoyment of human beings.