Some people believe that young people know about international pop and movie stars but know very less about famous people from the history in their own country. Why is this? How can more interest be created in young generation to gain more knowledge about their famous people from history?

While some individuals think that our young generation is quite familiar with the international celebrities, their knowledge about the history of their nation is extremely small. The main reason for this phenomenon is that they find historical facts boring and a mere wastage of time. The possible way to create their interest is by the presentation of such things in an interesting way and more beautifully. To commence with, the major cause of this process is the boredom associated with the learning of history, and furthermore, their perspective of considering it as not useful. Since from the beginning of the school life, teachers also do not take so much interest in teaching the past of famous people, and even they put emphasis on rote learning, therefore children might consider themselves unfit for studying social science. In India, for instance, teaching system is based on the theoretical concepts and no practical knowledge is provided to the students, which in turn, has lead to the lesser interest of the younger children towards the history. This way teaching methods are responsible for the poor condition of this subject. There are several ways to alleviate this problem. First of all, the teaching methods should be modified and more practical methods should be adopted to enhance the inclination of pupils towards the history of their own country rather than focusing on the multinational celebs. If students are motivated to learn about the struggle of great freedom fighters and persons involved in making the constitution of the nation, then it will ultimately inclined them in order to take inspiration from them instead of avoiding their biographies. For example, educational institutes can organise tours of the national museums of arts and history where they will get plenty of evidence regarding the previous conditions of the nation. To elucidate, modification in the way of teaching can help to stimulate the growth of history related aspects. In conclusion, although a vast majority of people consider that children are keen to gather information of pop and movie stars, and they have little interest in history of celebrities in their own country. This essay discussed the reasons for the current situation which includes the boring teaching methods and possible solution to rectify this process.