Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life.

The majority of people think that the community should focus on the future because past experience has no value, meanwhile, others believe that understanding history is considered crucial for learning. This essay will discuss and scrutinize the benefits and drawbacks of both points of view. First and foremost, life has been changing rapidly causing many differences from the past. Focus on the past will lead to an outlook misinterpretation and decision failure. For instance, when Mallon claimed that the increasing rate of inequality will finally decrease, he was misled by the prior data for only 10 years period without considering the possibility of a growing number of population as the increasing of technology in the future. As a matter of fact, Thomas Piketty has proposed a larger inequality in the next 100 years, and it is proven today as the Gini ratio has been dipping year by year. Hence, having a precise prediction is more important than understanding a lot about the past to avoid a detrimental effect on society. Nevertheless, history has taught a lot to the community, especially from the leader's experiences. This is because a human's life is a cycle that will repeat at one point. Consequently, without knowing the history and past trends at all, will be an apocalypse in the future. For example, during this time of crisis, the government will take the same action as the previous crisis such as giving incentives and boost the demand through the cash transfer or furlough system. All in all, unless the government knowing the contra-cyclical policy from the past, the nation will abruptly face a recession. Overall, it is clear that learning from the past is somewhat important, as long as there is no giant transformation in human life. As a solution, the community should combine the present history with future trends to create a better decision making.