Some expert believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Several linguistic specialists propose that the commencement of learning a second language at primary school is more beneficial for adolescents than secondary school. Although the suggestion is plausible, there are also following drawbacks of acquiring a foreign language at an early age. this essay will elucidate the arguments why drawbacks of learning a new language in primary school outweighs its advantages To commence with its positive aspect, it is much easier for children to acquire new languages faster than adults. To elaborate, as the learning part of children’s brain is developing, it will stimulate their curiosity, which will help adolescents to embrace something new. Thereby, it will make it easy for them to acquire certain languages, whereas adults tend to have difficulty acquiring new terns, since the development of their brains deteriorate with time. For example, according to the research done by linguistic institution, Children comprehended and remembered new sentences faster than seniors. Nevertheless, there are numerous detrimental influences of learning a new language in primary school on children’s growth. One of the major drawbacks is that they might suffer identity crisis. To be specific, language is not only a means of communicating with others from other countries, but also a part of culture. Thus, multilingual children might easily be confused by who they are. Furthermore, since students who are still in primary school have not entirely acquired their mother tongue yet, they will find it difficult to follow the lessons if they set aside time learning another language. From my experience, children who have been raised by a multicultural family receive worse scores than monolingual primary students. In conclusion, it might be beneficial for children to acquire foreign languages as early as possible. However, there are also a number of consequences to ponder.