Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life.

History refers to all the things that happened in the past, especially the political, social, or economic development of a nation. Literally, everything, including a nation, a city, a town, a subject, a business, and even a product, has its unique history. Some individuals are of the opinion that studying the past history is useless today but others believe it is very essential to know history to better understand the present. I intend to discuss both sides of the argument in this essay. Personally, I side with the latter view. Undoubtedly, the present is the continuation of the past. Therefore, studying the past history can enable us to better understand what is going on around us. For example, if we are equipped with relevant knowledge of history, it will be easier for us to understand the evolution of mankind. It would also tell us how we progressed and reached where we are today. We would also know how technology developed step by step. History can serve us as a guide because of which we would not repeat the mistakes of yesteryears. We also get inspiration from the great men of the past through history. Those opposed to the study of history argue that the past was very different from the present, and we cannot apply that knowledge to the present. For example, they say that the French Revolution and the Freedom Struggle of lndia have no need to be learnt because those situations will never arise again. What they forget is that this knowledge makes us realize the importance of liberty and self-governance. Opponents of the study of history also claim that history has nothing to do with professionals, such as architects and accountants. However, I believe they would be better in their professions if they know something about the history of architecture or that of accountancy. As a matter of fact, you are supposed to demonstrate some evidence of historical ability if you want to pursue almost any career. To Conclude, studying the past history can not only deepen and widen our knowledge, but also help us develop the power of analysis. Thus, we are able to look at what is happening at present from a historical perspective and better understanding.