Some people think that prison sentences should not be used to deal with criminals. Education and skills training should be used instead.

Nowadays, crime rates are steadily increasing across the globe. Few sections in the community believe that criminals must be given vocational trainings rather than putting them in jail, as the part of punishments. I completely agree with the former opinion. This essay will discuss, firstly, how good education and skill development given to the culprits can be useful for the public and secondly, what positive impact it can bring to the economy. Providing vocational trainings for the lawbreakers can be beneficial to the society by reducing the rate of crimes. This is due to the fact that, they get to know what is good and bad as well as give them new job opportunities. For instance, if a thief is given proper vocational education, then his quality of living can be improved with the new career option. Thus, skill development trainings can control the crime incidence in the public. Similarly, these trainings can aid in the development of the society. This is because, when criminals have moved to alternative pathway of job and their part of salary could be paid as the governmental tax. Consequently, there might be an increase the economic revenue of the country. For instance, a research conducted in the U. S. A prison showed that, the prisoners who severed their punishment with vocational trainings, was remarked as the tax payers in just few months of their release. With which the revenue was also improved. Others argue that, sending culprits to jail may help in creating a fear in them. With that they may not commite the same as well as the others in the society would not be repeating the same. In conclusion, lawbreakers should be given skill development training and good quality of education for the safety as well as economic development of the nation. In my perspective, trainings can be beneficial to the prisoners rather sending them to the jail for serving the punishment of their crime.