For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and Math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skills be made as fourth skill to the list.

Since older times. education has focused upon developing and enhancing students' reading, writing and math skills. However, as modern life is dominated by computers, some people are of the opinion that computer skills should be added to the skill set. I strongly agree with the point of view. Computers have made our lives easier and efficient. Moreover, computer as a subject has been introduced in most of the schools and children are encouraged to use it's applications and websites to support learning. For instance, 1x1 is an application developed for schools that enables children to create an account and practice grade appropriate Maths and English exercises. Teachers also use the interface to track the progress of each child based on exercises completed by them. Therefore, to be able to use websites and applications to support learning, children have to know how to use a computer. The increased range of computers can also be seen at workplace. Nowadays, everyone is supposed to send e-mails for official communication. Internet has taken over lives and made the world a much smaller place. With multi national companies having offices in different global locations, e-mails are the most efficient and economic means of communication. Furthermore, when recruiting new employees, companies seek individuals with a prior knowledge of computer applications like MS Office, emails, etc. Thus, if seen from this light if students learn computer skill at school level, their chances of gaining employment are increased. After having discussed the most relevant advantages of computers in our modern life, it can be clearly seen that the addition of computer skill to my education will be beneficial to the children in the long run.