Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

As the Internet and information technology are developed, social media is becoming more and more well-known. Although, there are some disadvantages, this service provides good effects more. This essay will discuss the advantages and weaknesses of this technology and why its strengths outweigh faults of it. The benefits of social media are numerous. First, we can exchange our thoughts and opinions despite not being at the same place. So, we are able to utilize it for education of youngsters. For example, it is used to share opinions and learn more efficiently when students have classes online in the pandemic. Second, people can contact and make an appointment although they are not at the same place. It would reduce troublesome works to go out and be at the same place. I think this can also save the earth by not using cars which emit exhaust to meet for promising an encountering. Third, it gives plenty of information to us. We can search data for assignments or works and conduct it well. The drawbacks of social media are various. Firstly, anonymous and unknown person can access to a person or one’s important data. He or she will approach to get one’s personal information and use it in a bad way. Second, the reliability to information will be decreased. Because everyone can spread news, fake news will be increased. Then, users will doubt if data is correct. Third, some companies will advertise their products or services illegally. While people use it, they will be tired of advertisements. In my opinion, the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages of it. Although there are some problems, I believe we can solve the problem with subsequent policies. And I consider many people would utilize social media in a good way. To sum up, social media has advantages and disadvantages. But I think the merits of it outweigh the flaws of it.