Some think that resident should be responsible for keeping their areas clean and tidy, while others says it is the government’s responsibility.

It has been an age-long discussion by individuals, groups, societies and governments about stakeholders’ responsibilities with respect to making their habitations dirt-free and more liveable. To some people, the onus of maintaining a hygienic environment lies on its inhabitants while others believe that, this task is the government’s bit. I believe, this duty largely lies more on the shoulders of each and every member of the society than the constituted authority of a particular area. To start with, every occupant of an area is naturally saddled with the task of keeping their environments as clean as possible; this eventually cascades up to form the bigger picture of a serene and neat community. To further spur this instinct in people, leaders of societal gatherings, religious gatherings as well as social media influencers such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter also have a role to play through awareness campaigns against bad environmental habits such as drainage blocking with wastes, nylons and empty plastics. This will definitely go a long way in keeping a pristine environment void of dirt. However, as much as every individual has a prime role to play in keeping a non-filthy surrounding, governments at all levels also have a skin in the game. A special arrangement should be made to ensure waste collection from every household through provision of refuse trucks for residents to bin their refuse. These unwanted materials are then conveyed to a special dump site usually at the outskirt of the town where they are possibly recycled and processed into useful materials. Developed nations such as United States of America who operates a circular economy is a good example in this regard. In conclusion, in a bid to maintain a clean, attractive and tidy environment void of dirts and filthiness, every individual of an household, every household in a community and the community at large have a major role to play in order to achieve this. These responsibilities lie more on everyone than the government.