Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life.

Although, it is sometimes thought that things from the past have no benefit for us living today, other people believe that history is indispensable if we are to fully comprehend the purpose of our existence. In my opinion, history contains important details which could help us avoid past mistakes and look ahead into the future. On the one hand, some people think that technology has outdated most of the things normally practiced years ago. With scientific advancement, people now can peform a lot of activities with ease and to a degree that was previously thought impossible as there are better and more sophisticated ways of doing things. This has made learning of the old ways futile, with no relevance in today's world. For example, learning how a horse moves, which was the predominant means of transportation years ago, has no impact on learning to drive a car, a modern means of transportation. On the other hand, others believe that history contains important details and information to help us comprehend the purpose of our existence and I agree. We as humans, generally have always had the same values and purpose which has been passed on from generation to generation. Understanding how these values helped older generations or the consequences of drifting from their purpose would help us today to build a better society and avoid dangers. For instance, understanding the dangers of greed and the troubles earlier generations went through to rid themselves off it helped the Japanese to be more disciplined and tolerant, thus building a more constructive society. In conclusion, although, thoughts vary as to the importance of history, It contains indispensable information for us to build a better society today.