Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Unpaid community service such as working for a philanthropic organization or helping old people must be an integral part of high school education. The schools are not a place for learning math or physics only. They should teach real life skills also. Therefore I strongly believe that unpaid community services should be added to school programs. Children who go to high school should learn to help old people without expecting anything in return. In my opinion, everyone needs to learn to help others without expecting anything in return. This might be difficult in the beginning, but they will learn this skill over time. For example, teaching sports to younger children or helping old people will become interesting activities for them after they see the other person’s happiness. By engaging in these activities from such a young age, they will learn to take care of people who need their help. For example, if they become an engineer, they will readily help an engineering student in internship. Working for a charity also gives students an opportunity to communicate with other people. This will improve their communication skills. Good communication skills are essential for success in life. For instance, by working for a charity, they start to communicate with people that they don’t know. This situation improves their communication skills. The other important point is that they will be a part of a group and learn to work in a group. In conclusion, unpaid community service must be an important part of high school education and I strongly believe that these services must be compulsory and with these services, students learn crucial life skills in their early life.