Importance of Physical Education in School Explain your answer giving reasons and specific examples.

Education, in the broad sense, can be considered as any act or experience that has a formative effect on the mind, character, or physical ability of an individual. Formal education is the process by which society, through schools, colleges, universities and other institutions, deliberately transmits its cultural heritage, accumulated knowledge, values, and skills from one generation to another. It involves planned programs and distinct methods for the purpose of accomplishing educational objectives. No doubt education has been a state subject, but the centre has always kept a keen vigil over its development (Naik, 1974). Physical education is one of the elements of education; which through physical activity can transform knowledge, values and skills-as a result of participation in muscular activities. Much can be learned about environment, others, and ownselves through this form of participation. Furthermore, it can significantly influence the development of one’s personality and ability to function effectively (Ali, 2005). The central advisory board of physical education and recreation (1964) emphasized that physical education is an integral part of the education- education through physical activity to develop the total personality of the child to its fulfillment and perfection in body, mind and spirit. It is concerned with the development of physical fitness. In driving for such fitness, however, physical education has to train the children mentally, morally with social qualities, arouse its awareness about environment and develop alertness, presence of mind, resourcefulness, discipline, co-ordination and the spirit of respect, sympathy and generosity towards others-qualities that are essential for making congruence with the environment to live a happy and well adjusted life in a free and democratic world. Physical education can thus make a very valuable contribution to our national life.