Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education plays a very important role in the lives of people. Some people are of the opinion that unpaid community services should be made compulsory for school students. In my opinion, the advantages of adding unpaid community service to the school curriculum outweigh the drawbacks, if any. Children have very impressionable minds and school programs should be designed in such a way that they will ensure the overall development of the child. Dignity of labor is an essential topic that is covered in the school curriculum but it is better understood when children actually engage in various forms of labour. For example, when students are made to do community service like cleaning up a park every Friday, it instills in them respect for the person doing that job and also a greater awareness that littering is a bad habit. Some people will argue that a child should not be put through these kinds of experiences as they should be made to aspire for greater things in life by working really hard in school. Moreover, they should spend more time studying. I believe if the importance of serving the society is instilled in the children from a very early age, they will grow up to become a much more socially aware and socially responsible person. For example, in Japanese education system, special emphasis is given to community service, though many people do not understand why it is necessary. However, the purpose of this became clear during the recently concluded football World Cup in Russia. Although the Japanese team lost the semi final match they won the hearts of many people by the service they provided by cleaning up the stands of a foreign country. In conclusion, the advantages of mandatory community service in school outweigh any disadvantages associated with it. After studying the pros and cons, I am convinced that community service helps the overall development of the child and subsequently the nation.