Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree?What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is considered that increasing the price of petrol is one of the most important way to solve traffic and pollution problems. However, in my opinion, I completely disagree with this opinion and I think we should use other sources of energy. The fundamental reason for my opinion is increasing price of petrol will reduce its use and, thus, traffic will decrease so, pollution problems will be solved. However, people use vehicles because they have not a other options to travel. In fact, due to the increase in petrol price cost of goods may increase because of an increase in transportation costs. Moreover, if we use other energy like, solar power, wind power and hydra power to run vehicles and factories, there will be less production of harmful gases like carbon dioxide and other which contributes increasing air pollution. In addition, using solar power to run public vehicles would result in cheap transportation. This will encourage people to travel through eco-friendly public transportation. To conclude, increasing the price of petrol is not the best way to resolve the growing traffic problem and pollution. So, an effective way to control this issues would be use other sources of energy in all the transportation system which can rapidly bring down traffic and pollution problem.