Some people believe that today we have too many choices.

The contemporary world's economy is booming with products and services. Unlike previous generations, modern society is exposed to unlimited opportunities regardless of areas of life. Despite the importance of freedom to choose, it is felt by many that the amount of choice available today is excessive. I completely agree with this statement for two reasons. First, having to choose from an abundance of options results in stress. One example being ubiquitous online shopping websites, which compel people to rummage through thousands of items. Confronted with so many options, customers struggle to arrive at a decision and continue searching, inevitably becoming overwhelmed. Furthermore, in order to make the best purchase, people have to consider various aspects of each item such as price, quality, and delivery terms. Thus, people spend an enormous amount of time and energy seeking ideal goods, nevertheless often failing to satisfy their cravings. Second, facing a plethora of alternatives leads to disappointment. Since opting for one opportunity normally implies losing all the others, people are likely to analyze, compare and finally doubt their original preference. It is especially true for social media platforms, where the fear of missing out has become the norm. For instance, picking a social event to attend from dozens of perspective solutions requires effort, making people contemplate if they have chosen the best one. Hence, choice overload causes decision fatigue and leaves people dissatisfied. In conclusion, modern life is brimmed with possibilities, prompting individuals to perpetually make various choices. However, the ability to choose without constraints has become a source of frustration, making people more susceptible to distress. One should exercise self-control and increase their conscious awareness if they aspire to mitigate these negative effects.