Some people believe that to be successful in a sport, natural ability is necessary while others think hard work and practice is more important.

It is thought by some that having an instinctive competency is essential in order to prosper in sports, others however, believe that hard work and constant rehearsal is highly of great importance. In my opinion, I consider that consistency in practice is the best way to achieve greater heights in sporting. On the one hand, some people have suggested that the natural effort of an athlete is what makes him successful. This is as a result of the skills they are being born with, and right from their childhood, they display attributes of being a great athlete in future. These young ones are being nurtured at an early stage and they master the skills when they become adults. To illustrate, Kanu Nwankwo of Nigeria super eagles team started playing football at the age of 5, and since then till his adulthood, he has obviously shown the world the skills of perfection in his career as a footballer. On the other hand, others are of the opinion that constant practical sessions and hard work is of great importance to the success in sports and I agree. Firstly, when an athlete has a professional trainer that motivates him all the time, he definitely will not lose focus and also, he tend to work much harder to get to the level he aspires to. This is because, in order to achieve your goals in I life, you must be consistent in your work. For example, Mohammed Ali, the world number one heavyweight champion in boxing, once said that it was only his consistent effort in his eight hours per day training that made him reach the level he is now. More so, this has indicated that the important role of constant rehearsal cannot be compromised. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, I believe that consistency and progressive hard work is essential if you want to achieve success in any sporting activity.