Deforestation is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes and effects of deforestation?

Nowadays, deforestation is one of the biggest problems that worry people from all over the world. This essay will discuss some reasons why this has occurred and examine the consequences of this worrying issue. There are numerous reasons including natural causes and human actions. Some examples of natural deforestation causes are forest fires, droughts, exotic animals, floods, climate change, and overpopulation of foreign animals. Let us take the latest forest fires in Australia as an example, even though these fires were usual for forests of Australia, what made the country's fire season longer and much more dangerous was climate change. Despite being a natural disorder, climate change and other issues have an indirect relationship with human impacts. In addition, apart from indirect connection, there are other causes that are directly related to human activity including agricultural expansion, cattle breeding, timber extraction, mining, oil extraction, dam construction, and infrastructure development. Therefore, it goes without saying that all problems which damage our nature are highly connected with the behavior of society so that individuals are responsible to protect our nature and decrease the danger of natural disorders to the minimum. On the side of effects, the outcomes of this have been and will continue to be very serious. Firstly, forests are home to 80% of terrestrial biodiversity, containing a wide array of trees, plants, animals, and microbes which means even the small fires can affect whole flora and fauna of territory. According to the guardian, up to 30% of koalas dead in mid-north coast fires which resulted in the functional extinction of koalas. Not only this, according to a 2018 FAO report, but three- quarters of the Earth's freshwater also comes from forested watersheds, and the loss of trees can affect water quality. The UN's 2018 State of the World's Forests report found that over half the global population relies on forested watersheds for their drinking water as well as water used for agriculture and industry. To sum up, it is evident that there several causes of deforestation, and a variety of negative effects. Deforestation is a huge problem, therefore all governments and people should unite their efforts to reverse it.