Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however argue that the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding the punishment.

In recent times, crimes that are happening in the society are at alarming levels and the courts are working round the clock to deliver justice. Certain sections of the society think that the punishments should be served according to the crimes they commit. However, there are others who disagree with this notion and they contemplate that it is essential to know the entire picture and the reasons behind the crimes. Only that serves the purpose before delivering the justice. In this essay, I shall list down the happenings from both the views with my opinion inclined towards the latter. On the one hand, there were various judgments which have been delivered based on the sheer publicity without fully knowing the gravity of the crime. For example, there are several less fortunate individuals who have served longer duration, behind the bars because of the false cases made against them. These people come from the marginalised sections of the society, who have no access to legal aid. When these people are falsely prosecuted, they end up losing their youthfulness in serving the prison sentences. The reason is, the justice served is blindly equated to the crimes committed, rather than assessing the severity of the crime and failure to investigate whether the individual is really guilty. On the other hand, there are various demonstrations happening in most of the sections in our societies, to streamline laws such that punishments should be delivered only after carefully assessing the nature of the crime. For example, if an adolescent is constantly abused for years, his psyche would be surely affected which would indulge him to commit some of the gravest crimes against the people who had abused him. Had such people been raised and treated properly, their life would have yielded fruition just like everyone. That’s the reason, some of the criminal justices were corrected, when the prosecuted goes for a re-appeal against the injustice delivered to him, as he was not guilty. To recapitulate, the delivered justice should not be considered as a travesty of justice. Therefore, the judges should not always go by the rule book before writing sentences. They need to carefully assess the seriousness of the crime as well the evidences to deliver their sentence. As every innocent life is precious, not to be wasted behind the bars which is also an injustice.