Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

The crime is a critical problem in the current society and has to take lawful actions to make a peaceful environment for all people. Few people believe that the death penalty should be enacted for those who have done unacceptable violent crimes while others state that these punishments cannot be accepted in contemporary society. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of the death penalty and I am in the opinion that the government has to introduce necessary methods to prevent the crimes and the death penalty is not a punishment. The major advantage of the death penalty is people being reluctant to perform any sort of crime as a result of deadly punishments. In other words, when the laws are powerful and criminals have to pay for their crimes by their lives makes them rethink their actions since anybody is love themselves. For instance, the statistics state that the percentage of total crimes that occurred before discontinuing the death penalty in Sri Lanka was considerably low. On the other hand, the significant disadvantage is innocent people can be punished as a result of loopholes in the law and the inability to prove their accuracy because of poverty or low income. Similarly, the lack of evidence to demonstrate the truth of crimes also lead to inaccurate court decisions. For example, an honest person will be paid from his/her life to a crime that he/she did not commit as a result of a lack of evidence. In summary, the death penalty has its own ups and downs such as people will be self-behave and innocent people pay the price. Therefore, first of all. the law has to be empowered and reevaluate to close the loopholes to make justice to the society. Moreover, the government can initiate programs like the development of the child's mind not to get involved in crimes with or without knowingly, promote medication and organize awareness and rehabilitation programs to reduce the crime gradually. Then there will not be a necessity to enact the death penalty.