Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

It is argued that punishments for various crimes should be fixed accordingly. While some argue that it should be concluded based on the situations and actions that made them commit a misconduct should be reiterated and punish as needed. Though fixed punishments are effective, they will not prevent individuals to stop the activities in the future. I believe that explanation and demands from the individual should be carefully assessed before punishing and rehabilitating them would resolve the issue and wouldn't raise the problem again. To embark on, when a person commits an illegal act and caught while doing so and he knows what kind of treatment he is going to have in prison, he would be habituated to it and never suffers the same punishment and develops resistance against it. This kind of forfeiture would lead to more crimes by the same person repetitively. For example, In the United States crime rate increased by 40% in the last 5 years because there is only 3 months prison for more than 10 types of crimes that includes assault and stealing things. This could be stopped by educating them in the right way. On the other hand, if punishments are severe as per the seriousness behind the crime, it would result in instability among individual mental state and sometimes results in converting them to psychopaths. Rehabilitating and assessing the situations that made them commit a felony and solving the root cause would help a lot in solving the problem and also stop repeated crimes by the same person at least. Supporting them against their odds will help prevent crimes and also individual himself will educate others regarding the same. For example, in India mercy is shown thrice and in the final stage if the culprit doesn't change his behaviour, he will be punished to the core and also prisons him for a lifetime. This gives them a chance to change and also help others. In conclusion, although fixed punishments are effective only for particular crimes this should not be followed for all the crimes and considering the positives and bad inspirations would result in a much better community to live in.