Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that each kind of criminal problems should have fixed different penalties. However, in my opinion, I would argue that criminal conviction should be considered through the form of the crimes as well as the circumstances and the motive of each crime. On the one hand, a different type of crimes should have a different type of punishments. Each crime can be completely divided into many kinds of small crime and each of them can happen in many ways that we cannot expect. Furthermore, sentencing a crime should also be dependent on the extent of its crime whether it is severity or light. For example, a murder might totally be sentenced to death due to killing citizens, but a thief just can be convicted to 1-year prison. Thus, each fixed punishment for each crime should be applied widely in society. On the other hand, deciding on the punishment should have considered the situations of the crime to explore why the criminal commit the crime and to understand the motives and the decisions of normal criminal. Many people because they do not have enough money to cure their family members such as mother or father, they must have committed the crime. Besides, there are also many people with unfairness that means they are put into crime circumstances by the criminals. For instance, a youngster was defrauded by a criminal because he transported drug and the result is that he had just been convicted 3 months prison. Thus, the circumstances and the motive, the decisions of each crime should be considered before sentencing the punishments. In conclusion, although many people think that every crime should have each type of fixed punishments, I totally believe that the situations, the decisions and the motives of each criminal should be considered when giving punishments for criminals