Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

It is common opinion that for a certain illegal act should always correspond the same punishment. Others believe that law should keep into consideration the person reasons and the actual situation when establishing the punishment. In this essay I will analyse both sides and express my view about this matter. Nowadays many argue that one commits a crime, a correspondent fixed punishment should be always applied without considering the specific circumstances. In fact, some people think that it would not be fair to change the level of punishment based on a specific situation. For example, in the case of two people committing the same illegal action, if the type of punishment would depend on the personal reasons of a criminal, one person could end up in prison, while for the second one it could mean no jail time, only because the individual circumstances were different. Many could argue that this would not be fair and that the law should ensure that anyone doing the same illegal act receives also the same penalty. On the other hand, others believe that it is necessary to consider the specific circumstances that lead someone to commit a criminal act. Based on gravity and on the motivations of a certain illegal action, the punishment should be therefore attenuated or aggravated. For instance, if two people would steal money, but one of them is a parent and he did it because he had lost his job and needed to feed his children, his circumstances could diminish his prison time. In conclusion, I believe that the law should keep into consideration the personal motivations that lead a person to act illegally because there are several reasons that may push an individual into doing a crime. Therefore, I think that the juridical system should keep this always into account and I hope that it will be possible to apply more severe or lighter penalties based on the single case.