Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for commiting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Everyday, we hear about one crime or the other and we also hear about punishments being handed out to criminals. Some people believe that there should be the same punishment for a given type of crime while others believe that punishment should be give out based on the circumstances of the crime and the motivations of the perpetrator. This essay will discuss both sides of the coin and put forward the argument that each crime must be analysed separately. Some people say that a crime is a crime and hence deserves the same kind of punishment. In their eyes, if someone robes a bank off a million dollars or if a beggar steals a packet of cookies from a grocery store, both these crimes are of the same nature and hence both criminals deserve the same treatment. If a person with a past criminal record commits murder, or if a person kills someone in self defense, they both should be equally guilty in eyes of the law. While this line of thinking seems absurd, it does offer one advantage, that of fast tracking the legal procedure. Legal cases are notorious for running for decades and by standardizing the punishments, victims and their families might get closure quickly. However, there is another side to the story. Most crimes are not black and white and there are shades of grey which must be considered before announcing judgements. Consider two scenarios: firstly, a woman who kills her attacker in self preservation and secondly, a man kills and robs another person. Can you imagine both the woman and the man being sentenced to 10 years in prison? Wouldn't that be incredulous! The former is not even a criminal, instead, she is a victim of a crime. To conclude, the merits of assessing each crime on a case to case basis outweigh the merits of treating crimes in a homogeneous manner. Each situation presents a unique set of circumstances and these must be taken into consideration before announcing punishments.