Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each crime. others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Every crime requires a precise punishment to increase the faith of people in the judiciary. Some feel that fixed punishment for each crime is necessary. While others argue that it is not fair since each crime has different motive. In my opinion, I think that the circumstances and motive of a crime should also be taken into account while deciding a punishment. In the first case, if an accused has committed the crime then a fixed punishment will help to reduce the number of trials in the court and hence make it a fast procedure. Usually a long court procedure will affect the victim or victim’s family in a bad way and reduce their hope in the judicial system. But a fixed punishment will make people aware of each punishment for a certain crime which will reduce the crime rate. For example in some Arab countries the punishment for murder is death penalty and the crime rate is evidently low compared to other countries. On the other hand, considering the circumstance and the motive of the crime will have a choice to reduce or increase the amount of punishment. For example, if someone committed a murder for self protection it is a totally different case of murder. So having the same punishment for murder wont be necessary. But if someone did a murder in a brutal way, the punishment should vary. Human rights of the accused is also considered in this type of judgement. To conclude, I think it is necessary to consider the circumstances and the motives for deciding the punishment of a crime.