Some people believe that there should be a limit to the maximum amount of money one can earn in a society.

Given that money is one of the most essential materials one needs in their life, the quantity of salary one is able receive in a society has always been a matter of interest to many people. Some individuals believe that there must be a limit to how high this amount can get. I strongly disagree with this approach. Different jobs require different amounts of effort and knowledge; hence, it is expected for the salaries to be different as well. If there were a maximum to the amount of payment, it could create conflicts between people with the highest income in a situation where some of said people are working harder than the rest. Imagine two ophthalmologists with this very maximum payment who both work at the hospital for 8 hours a day. and one of them works at their own private clinic in addition to working at the hospital. Being aware of this situation, the ophthalmologist who also works at their clinic might consider this situation upsetting and inconsistent with justice. The conflicts caused by this matter can deal enormous damage to the society, and will eventually result in class divisions between individuals who get paid the most. Being aware that one’s diligence merits a larger paycheck, a person might believe that their so-called high salary is underwhelming. This state can negatively affect one’s work performance to the point where said person considers changing careers. This, on a larger scale, can lead to the collapse of the labor market since it is highly likely for people with the maximum payment to experience this sort of apathy toward their jobs. Although many people already exist who experience this feeling of dissatisfaction with their work, it would certainly not be pleasant to give rise to this occurrence by setting a limit to one’s salary. To conclude, I firmly believe that everyone should earn as much money as they deserve and limiting the maximum amount of this money would not be a great choice as it can cause serious harm to the society such as class divisions and a noticeable deterioration in one’s work performance.