suggestion about the quality ò lectures

Make students understand what good performance or goal means: It will be easy for the students if they can only achieve learning goals if they understand those goals. They also need to feel some ownership of them, and can understand the self-assessment process. In higher education, there should be a reasonable degree of similarity between the goals set by students and the goals originally set by the teacher. This is rationally vital given that it is the students’ goals that serve as the criteria for self-regulation. For example, providing quality information to students about their learning: The teachers have a vital role in increasing their students’ own ability for understanding the self-regulation process. They are also an essential source of external feedback. Traditionally, feedback from teachers has been a source where students can evaluate progress. The students can also check out their own internal progression by the feedback given by the teachers. Furthermore, teachers are usually more effective in detecting mistakes in students’ work rather than themselves. As a result, providing quality information to students is very important to ensuring student learning. There is also need for lectures to engage with the learners in formulating and developing the questionnaire together. So that both parties would be aware right from the onset of the contract (that is teaching a particular unit in a particular semester ) content to evaluate, mode of evaluation, time, scoring method and grade. While doing this the lecturer also spells out to learners very clear their expectations, modalities of learning in his or her class, evaluation criteria, scores and grading. And there is need for discussions between the two parties (teacher- student) to be generated often other than some administrators walking into lecturers classes and dishing out questions like an exams and sitting down to analyze scores.