Courses in music and art should be made compulsory in high school

Music as well as art is considered to be an universal language. Though having such courses have a great impact on ones emotional intelligence I completely disagree with the notion to make these subjects mandatory for high school students as it seems irrational. To elaborate, teenagers have a lot on their plate. They are already succumbed with a lot of the academic studies because of the ever growing nip and tuck competition in the society. Adding music and art in their curriculum would surely act as a stress reliever but would also consume a lot of energy which they could manifest in order to achieve a higher grade. Moreover, majority of the students already have a clear mindset on what they want to achieve and thus adding these subjects would distract them and make their lives a tad bit confusing. Furthermore, no subject should be made compulsary specially those which require the use of immense imagination like music and art. The patterns and techniques could be learnt but the final product should come naturally and by heart which would not be the case if such subjects are made mandatory. Adding these courses and making them compulsory would be a threatening issue as it would only increase competition. For instance, students would feel more comply to achieve better marks in music and art to be a step ahead from their peers which would ascertain more pressure and stress. However having music and art in an early stage of students life would surely be benevolent as it would help to improve imaginations but to make it compulsery in high school would impose crisis on these juveniles. Thus to recapitulate I completely disagree with the notion as the drawbacks of making music and arts compulsary are too dire to ignore.