Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

The judicial system is an integral part of our society, and without it, there would be chaos and injustice everywhere. While some individuals believe that a specific crime should be penalized by a particular judgement, others think that the situation and the inspiration for the crime should be taken into consideration. However, I believe in the former opinion because it proves to be a better law and order system. In this essay, we shall discuss these two topics further. Firstly, the specific judgement of a type of misconduct has been carried out for centuries, and this has proven to be more effective. Secondly, such laws maintain equilibrium among criminals; for example, no individual is discriminated under any circumstances and must face the consequences of their actions. Lastly, it has a greater impact, psychologically because people are cognizant about the severity and outcome of a crime, and this eventually reduces prejudice and chaos among society. Consequently, people feel much safer and secure when rules are enacted. On the contrary, some people argue that the nature and condition of the criminal should be noted. Furthermore, certain occasions an individual is coerced or brainwashed to do some awful activity; for instance, juvenile are the most vulnerable to such situations, and often get manipulated to perform some heinous activity. Moreover, an individual would get a chance to prove their innocence, and explain their condition. As a result, people believe these steps would give some hope. To summarize, there are two sides to an argument. Therefore, although it is imperative for the judicial system to maintain justice, I believe that people would benefit more when there was a fixed punishment for each type of violation.