Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

I strongly believe that advertisements improve the quality of a mans life. With the growing technology, there are many products that are available in the market which makes our life simple by reducing our work. For each and every product, starting from a simple tooth brush, we have numerous brands in the market which are spaced at different price ranges and specifications. Advertisements helps us in viewing and analysing the specifications and prices including the drawbacks for all the available options. These days, we also have the reviews being posted below the advertisements with pros and cons of the product which is really helpful. I do agree that at times it may be annoying when your inbox is filled with advertisements or when an advertisement pops up on your laptop screen in the middle of something very important. But, if one does not know the products that are available in the market, then they would not know the best suited product that ticks all of their requirements. Lack of knowledge may in fact end up in spending more money for an unworthy product. Advertisements are meant only to promote their products and not compile or force any individual to buy them. It is sole decision of an individual whether or not to buy a product. I am an individual who likes to make small notes or marks in a book while reading. These days, use of books has become very less and most of the information is transferred electronically. I really missed the joy of reading and was lost but then through advertisements, I came across laptops with active stylus which allows us to draw, make notes, and do everything in similar way I used to when I read in books. This really brought my joy of reading back and this would definitely would have not happened it there was no medium to promote such new products. Remember, technology or internet is a double edged sword.