Some people believe that there is no harm in allowing children unrestricted access to the internet, provided they have software such as Net Nanny to prevent access to some sites.

When it comes to children's entertainment, people are deeply divided over the permission given to children to use the internet with software such as Net Nanny. As far as I am concerned, I tend to partly agree with this idea. On the one hand, although Net Nanny might be a very useful parental control program, it is still harmful when children are exposed to extensive usage without parent’s supervision because Net Nanny still lacks certain aspects. Firstly, Net Nanny lacks location features, which means parents can only monitor their child's online activity but cannot know where they are at any point in time. Secondly, children can suffer from some health problems such as eye disorders and obesity. On the other hand, Net Nanny, a program developed for parents to keep a constant eye on their kids using the internet, has quite a number of interesting and effective parental control features. Firstly, net nanny makes it easy for parents to have full control over their kid‘s online activities. Therefore, Net Nanny offers parents the right to limit what their children view. Secondly, parents can set time management to specify a total amount of time that their kids can spend online before they get cut offline. When parents don’t want their children to be online and browse the internet beyond a certain limit, Net Nanny does cater for this need. In short, there is no need to be concerned when children use the internet with Net Nanny installed because of the aforementioned features. In conclusion, even with the aid of protective software such as Net Nanny, there are some threats when letting children access the net without parents’ control. However, there is little evidence for the harm while the benefits are obvious. Therefore, I partly agree with the idea that children should be able to use the net for entertainment and education as long as their parents use some kind of software to prevent access to toxic sites