Some people believe that the sure shot way to succeed in business is to have a unique product. Write atleast 250 words.

A successful business is either built on a product or on a service and the choice is always unique. Some believe that having a unique product is the key to succeed. Whereas others claim that it depends on how well an individual can run and understand the business. Although there have been great business built on a product, I believe it all depends on the team building the business. Having a unique product surely places great advantage to the business. Firstly, there is no competition. For instance, if I am the only person who sells Android phones, it is obvious that anyone who needs it will buy it from me, making my business rise. Secondly, a unique idea brings with it different ways of doing a particular thing. Like when Steve Jobs created the first digital computer, it led to many other inventions like ipads, iPhones, iTunes etc. However, merely having a unique product does not make a business successful. For instance- if two companies are selling the same product, the ones with better quality or service will be preferred more for obvious reasons. Even more, two companies selling the same product can have different business models and that makes the difference. Overall, I believe an uncommon product does gives some added advantage but in the end, it all boils down to the way a business is being done. The better the methodology, more successful the business will be.