In general, people do not have such a close relationship with their neighbours as they did in the past. Why is this so?

Nowadays, most people spend a considerable amount of time online. It was not true for the past generations as it was common for people to have barbeques and parties with their neighbours next door. As a result of the latest developments in the communication technology, people’s minds shifted from offline real-life interactions with neighbours to online interactions with some random people they met online. The exact reasons of this will be outlined in this essay. Social media can be taken as a major factor for the above-mentioned changes. Popular social websites, i. e. , Facebook and Twitter, both have more than a billion users that visit the website daily. Most of those people are people who live their usual lives and chat online with people from all over the world. At the same time, in the previous centuries, people did not have an option to log in to Facebook and chat online, therefore, they spent time with their friends from their present town and their neighbours. The aforementioned changes resulted in growing number of people who do not even know their neighbours. Moreover, the development of telephones and cellphones exemplifies another reason of that shift. If people of the 19th century had an opportunity to send an SMS or call their friends from another part of the town, the would appparently done that. However, they did not have such a great chance and had to spend most of their free time with the people from the same city and neighbourhood. The present day people, on the other hand, can easily call a person from another country. Thus, the invention of telephone has greatly contributed to the described processes. Consequently, nowaday people mostly communicate through their pesonal cellphones or via social media. Normally, most people do not know their neighbours really well. I pesonally agree that people do not have cordial relationship with their neighbours due to the reasons described in that essay.