Some people believe that the media have a right to report on a celebrity’s personal life. Others believe that a celebrity has the same right to privacy as anyone else.

During the last decades, celebrities' privacy has become a controversial issue in the media industry. At the end of the 20th century, Princess Diana's death as a result of being chased by paparazzi caused massive public sympathy. Nevertheless, many publishing companies still try to find out whether celebrities have a skeleton in the cupboard by invading famous people's private lives. Needless to say, being famous does not mean they do not have essential human rights, including the right to privacy. Having said that, the public often turn a blind eye. Furthermore, many seem to enjoy hearing and chatting about celebrities' secrets rather than criticize the media publishing humiliating gossips about famous people. They support the media by spending on their contents since they think celebrities have to pay the price of being famous and they know that some famous people take advantage of gossips in order to build their career. On the other hand, some people despise the shameless media since they strongly believe no one has the right to violate others' private lives. The concern that journalists might be around in a neighbourhood targeting a scandal sometimes makes famous people's mind go mad. In fact, it is unfortunately common that a sensational scoop makes someone's life completely different in a bad way. As a consequence of scandals, many actors and actresses lost their jobs, families, reliability by the public or even their own lives. In conclusion, taking all into consideration, I believe that famous people's privacy should be protected based on their human rights, therefore, journalism ought to respect the border between celebrities' social lives and private ones. However, they sometimes have to sacrifice their privacy since they are not anonymous to the public and ordinary people also pay attention to their real lives.