In your opinion should government intervene in the rights of the individual with regard to family planning?

The coronavirus pandemic has brought many challenges for the expectant couples as well as governments. The long lockdowns causes unprecedented rise of unplanned pregnancies across the globe. The world is now bracing for a baby boom and some people clamor for government intervention to control the growing population. In my opinion, government should take part of the solution to control the recent sharp increase in birth rates. For many couples, public funded family planning services helped them tremendously in accessing contraception. The governments develop family planning policies is a huge relief particularly to those at the bottom of society. For example, couples from a humble background usually have the highest fertility but posses a low birth-control use. Government policies must centers specifically on the poor who have limited knowledge of birth control. Another example is teenagers, most teenagers of today are sexually active. To protect them from acquiring sexually transmitted diseases and unwanted pregnancies, authorities should intervene and provide them free access to reproductive health care services. On the other side, some public family planning programs have encountered criticisms on the areas of cultural and religious grounds. Proponents claims that slowing population growth and discouraging teenagers to have an early sex life will not necessarily equate to an economic advantage. Firstly, population growth and economic development is linked very closely. A country with low population density will experience human resources shortage. In order to keep up with economic development, these countries need to increase in population. Secondly, most religious groups opposed in the distribution of contraceptive to teenagers. Instead they supported the idea of delaying timing of first sex among teenagers by engaging in family religious activities on a daily basis. In conclusion, governments intervention for birth control will help women access to effective methods of family planning. However, this could also may lead to violates human’s basic rights to choose. For me, government funds for family planning should continue but couples must have freedom to decide on the number of children that they want