Some people believe that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Environmental concern has become an all-embracing topic in the 21st century. Many find the decrease in the number of certain species and plants to be the most apprehensive matter within the topic. However, this notion should be rejected as one can see many other factors, which are imperative enough to focus on as well. This doesn’t indicate that plants and animals shouldn’t be preserved, instead, I believe there isn’t a more salient category to turn to and all environmental matters should be looked at as vunerabilities which need to be faced with feasible actions. There is no doubt over the necessity to preserve wild-life and the greens. The most basic reason to do so is down to the benefits which they provide us, humans; with number one being the production of oxygen and reduction of air pollution as well as carbon dioxide. Similarly, other living creatures all come together in a huge food-chain, from which we benefit the most as humans. Unarguably, the protection of their reproduction will help us reduce the risk of food scarce in short future, for all mankind. The discrepancy raises when other factors are considered. Many believe that these are long-term out-looks and we are more endanger by other natural causes such as earthquakes or floods, which can kill up to thousands in less than minutes, just like it happened in 2012, in Japan. Subsequently, they have the instinct to act on what they consider more fatal, and their perception is that we should use our limited resources for survival first. In conclusion, both sides have tangible arguments. we cannot take focus off from threats that are always a possibility for us, such as natural disasters and yet we can’t destroy the nature as we will always demand its resources and prospects. Therefore, we shall take the middle road and put persistent effort into observation and protection for both loss and other possible environmental issues.