There is a good deal of evidence that increasing car use is contributing to global warming and having other undesirable effects on people’s health and well-being. What can be done to discourage people from using their cars?

In this day and age, it is evident that due to increasing the number of car users, there are several undesirable consequences that effect on people’s health and fitness as well as the environment and community life generally. There is much that can be done to discourage unnecessary car use. One possible approach is to increase the number of electric cars to deter car exhaust fumes. What it means, government should put numerous limitations on car manufacturing, and make them to produce electric cars. In addition, the demand for electronic cars might be rise if myriad electronic cars are produced and then everybody around the world may use them as habitual cars. As a result, the affect of exhaust fumes on global warming is certain to decrease when individuals use electric cars. Second possible solution is to make cars expensive to own and use, for example, by taxing them at the point of purchase or annually through a road tax. Certain range of car use, for instance short journeys within already congested cities, can also be discouraged through road pricing schemes such as operating in London. However, these punitive measures lone are unlikely to have a major impact unless alternative means of transport are available. By the way of conclusion, the trend rising car ownership and use need to be in inexorable. People can be encouraged to use other means of transport like electric cars. However, rhetoric alone is not likely to bring about change. Investment in practical alternatives is what is needed above all.