Some people believe that the government spends too much money on the arts and that it should spend more on other things.

In any country, some people feel the government uses its funds on developing arts in the country, rather than things, which need more attention. I completely agree with this point of view, and feel that government should use the money more appropriately. It has been observed that politicians make budget spending decisions based on their selfish motives without thinking about the actual benefits to the public. Millions of dollars are allocated on development of structures that do not have any practical value. On such example is spending made on erecting huge statues of famous personalities to attract tourists. To make these pieces of arts unique, extra large and strong, government has to use a number of resources. Since it does not create any real value to the public in terms of usage, I feel it a waste of money. There are projects where huge sums of money are employed to resurrect old ruins and sites, which are considered as lost arts. Large teams work on preserving these places, which have lost its ability to create value or provide any new information. Using the same money in redevelopment and building homes for the poor will prove to be beneficial. Not only housing, but also, this money can also be routed for free medical benefits and free education for the sector of population who cannot afford it. Art is vital, but more important are the underprivileged people who are in need of support. I strongly believe, if government uses its revenue for their future rather than arts, the world will be a happier place.