Some people believe that the difference between the lowest paid jobs and the highest paid jobs should be reduced.

In some countries, there is a huge disparity between the highest paid jobs and the lowest paid jobs. Every now and then, there is a debate regarding reduction in difference of salaries in jobs. I agree to the statement because it will help to retain employees for long and also maintain uniformity in the society. In today’s world, job retention is a major challenge for companies. Even blue chip companies are unable to retain much of their talent. Each company invests a huge amount in the training and guidance of each employee. But, after obtaining such training, the employees do not continue in the same company for long. One major reason of that is staffed exploitation in the name of wage or package rise. It is not unknown to us how higher management uses earnings to exploit their workers. The lower strata people who need their salaries to meet both ends are compelled to do extra work for the same income. Again, those who do office jobs are threatened that if they do not let sit and over work, then they are not likely to get good numbers in their annual performance appraisal resulting in lesser incremental. This type of bullying of employees is very common in corporate scenarios as well as some government offices. If the salary difference is reduced and the salaries be fixed, then there is less chance of higher authorities to exploit the workers and mid level officials. For example, in Russia, the remuneration of all jobs in a particular segment are nearly same and so the management cannot use salary as a whip to extract extra work from the workers. As a result, the overall job satisfaction is high resulting in high job retention in that country. Another reason for supporting the statement is the fact that lower disparity in salaries would result in more uniformity in the society. In a competitive world, people keep running for higher salaries. So, the rich keeps becoming richer and the poor keeps becoming poorer. This causes dissatisfaction in the minds of a particular segment of society. This dissatisfaction is the main reason of rising crimes in our society today. A more uniform salary structure will help reduce this dissatisfaction and bring about stability in the society. In conclusion, I would say that the gap between the zenith and nadir of salary should be reduced so that there is more employee retention and stability in society.