Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Economic development is considered to be the most critical objective by many governments. Others, however, argue that there are other goals of equal importance. This essay discusses both perspectives and why I believe that countries should strive equally for other types of progress. There are some who believe that economic development is the most critical objective of a country. The main reason for this is that economic prosperity leads to higher standards of living. More specifically, economic success leads to people making more money and this allows people to buy more of the goods they desire. In addition, economic development provides future prosperity which benefits society. For instance, when companies make more money they will expand and take on new employees. This is clearly beneficial as it reduces unemployment and ensures that people can support themselves and their families. However, I agree with those who believe that there are other goals that are just as important. The foremost of these is sustainable development, which is critical as it has an impact on our future generations. Currently, there are many unsustainable practices that are leading to global warming and threatening the future survival of the planet, and it is vital that the government address these. Moreover, governments need to pay attention to the distribution of wealth. At present, there is a growing disparity between the rich and the poor. If this is left unaddressed it could lead to social unrest and even a revolution occurring amongst the general population. To conclude, despite economic prosperity being critical for a nation, I believe there are other goals equally as important. This is because we need to protect our natural environment and societal order for future generations.