Some people believe that the best way to travel within a city is by car. Others believe it is best to travel by bicycle. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some individuals that using four-wheelers like cars are the acceptable mode of transportation in cities, while others think that bicycles are better alternatives. Although using pedal cycles decrease the pollution in urban areas, I personally believe that using four-wheelers saves a lot of time, and a family can travel with comfort. To begin with, cycles reduce air pollution as they do not release any fossil fuels. Nowadays, many people in urban sectors are using cycles for short distance purpose as a means to promote its usage to reduce environmental damage. For illustration, in India particularly in Delhi, the government took initiative to reduce the amount of air pollution to an extent by providing free cycles to school students and youngsters. Moreover, it helps to improve the fitness in riders and controls the obesity-related health problems. However, it is not user-friendly in harsh climatic conditions, and it becomes a deterrent to commute as a family. On the other hand, cars are efficient in saving time, and it is comfortable to make a journey with family members. Also, for the family with children it is an attractive means of transport as small children cannot bear hot and cold weather. Furthermore, driving a car in urban areas save time, and that time can be utilized in a useful way. For instance, people in developed countries prefer to use four-wheelers for transportation as it is convenient, and most drivers get sense of satisfaction in driving. A survey conducted by Harvard University found that 56 % of drivers feel driving a car is not a strenuous activity, and they enjoy doing it. I opine that this method of transportation is convenient, and personally a good mode to bond the family together and professionally, it saves time. In conclusion, though some individuals consider bicycles as a safe mode of transportation in urban areas as it reduces pollution, I accept it to a certain extent. Nevertheless, from my perspective cars are the effective method of commutation as it reduces the time taken to travel, and to make a trip as a family this is the best means of transport.