University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are different ranges of subjects offered by institutions. Students in university focus and choose only one subject all the time. However, it is believed by some people that children should be encouraged by an educational institution to study different subjects besides their own subject. Although I agree that students should pay attention to learn a variety of subjects, I believe that studying only one subject helps to attain specialisation and expertise in that particular major. It is irrefutable that providing the utmost attention to only a major subject would help the individuals to attain perfection in that. This is because students will spend time most of their time studying and reading the materials related to that subject. As a result, they will gain a deeper knowledge and have a career in that major. For example, Students admitted to law colleges, medical colleges turn out to be lawyers and doctors respectively. On the other hand, if university students will learn a lot of subjects, they will have a decent understanding of a variety of subjects. There would be many options for an individual to choose any subject for a career. This us useful for someone who has no intention of finding a specialist job. For instance, most of the students nowadays study every subject and later on do jobs in every field. To conclude, though I agree that focussing on just one subject is vitally important to gain depth knowledge and specialisation, I think that pursuing multiple subjects at institutions enables students to have a broad understanding of all of those subjects.